Leaders Then - Leaders Now

"From its inception to today, Smith Currie has demonstrated its commitment to the highest levels of service and leadership to the construction and government contracting industries."

Founded in 1965, Smith Currie was one of the first law firms in the country to work extensively with the construction industry.  Overton Currie spoke on construction law at hundreds of local, regional, and national trade association events. In 1971, Overton was elected Chair of the ABA’s Section of Public Contract Law. Some years later, Overton joined fellow national practitioners to found the American College of Construction Lawyers and served as the College’s first president. Subsequent generations of Smith Currie lawyers have continued Overton’s leadership. In 1983, Tom Abernathy was elected Chair of the Public Contract Law Section. During 1991, Luther House served as Chair of the ABA Forum on the Construction Industry. In 2003, Hugh Bell became the third Smith Currie lawyer to be elected Chair of the Public Contract Law Section.

Smith Currie’s widely-used treatise, Common Sense Construction Law, is now in its 5th Edition.  Our companion treatise, Federal Government Construction Contracts, is in its 2nd Edition and, in 2010, was supplemented by Federal Socio-Economic Policies, A Practical Guide for Construction Contractors. Also during 2010, Ernest Brown published California Infrastructure Projects. Smith Currie also publishes three newsletters covering recent developments of interest to construction and government contractors.  Through e-blasts and Common Sense Contract Law, the firm’s legal blog, we endeavor to alert our clients to current industry topics and concerns as they arise. You may subscribe to our newsletters and e-blasts on the Publications page of this website.

Smith Currie’s commitment to industry service includes active participation in numerous industry organizations. Tom Kelleher has served in numerous capacities with the Associated General Contractors of America and, in March 2010, received AGC’s Distinguished Coin award for his extraordinary service. Smith Currie’s managing partner, Bob Chambers, is counsel to the Georgia Highway Contractors Association.  Phil Beck is Chair of the AGC Contract Documents Forum, a past member of national AGC’s Board of Directors, and past Chair of the ConsensusDocs Content Advisory Council.  Charles Surasky has served on the Boards of Directors for the National Utility Contractors Association and the Georgia Utility Contractors Association. Jim Butler is Chair of the International Construction Division of the ABA Forum on Construction Law. Brian Wolf is a member of the Boards of Directors of the ABC of Florida and the ABC-Florida East Coast Chapter. He is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Construction Financial Managers Association of South Florida and is an active member of the Legislative Committee of the Construction Law Committee of the Florida Bar, RPPTL Section. Dan McLennon is Chair of ASA of California’s Government Relations Committee and a member of its Board of Directors. Dan is also a member of AGC of California’s Legal Advisory Committee and serves on the Boards of the National Association for the Remodeling Industry, the Marin Builders Association and ASA’s Bay Area Chapter.  Eric Nelson served as Vice Chair of the ABA’s Construction Division-Subcontracting Sub-Committee. Charlie Rogers served on the Steering Committee for Division 5 of the ABA Forum on the Construction Industry and is the Chair of the AGC Contract Documents Committee that is drafting a ConsensusDOCS Design Professional-Consultant Agreement.  Hugh Bell is Chair of the Education Project of the ABA Section of Public Contract Law and an ex officio member of its Council. Lisa Colon Heron sits on the Board of the National Association of Minority Contractors and is a Regional Director of Women Construction Owners and Executives. Scott Walters is Chapter Attorney for ABC Georgia and a member of the Attorney Advisory Panel of the National Association of Surety Bond Producers. Doug Tabeling is Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect of the AGC of America Construction Leadership Council and on the Steering Committee of the AGC of America Project Delivery Forum. Doug is also a member of AGC Georgia’s Board of Directors and is a past Chair of the AGC Georgia Young Leadership Program. Garrett Miller is a member of the Atlanta Bar Association’s Construction Law Section. Joe Dinardo is Chair of ABC Georgia’s Education Committee and a member of its Legislative Task Force. Christine Lee is Co-Chair of the Labor and Employment Law Section of the Marin County Bar Association. Stephen Reams is a national instructor for the Design-Build Institute of America.